The Whirlwind of Publication

Well, golly.

It’s been nearly a month since my debut novel IN FROM THE COLD was released by DSP Publications, and things have been awfully quiet around these parts. The reception for IFTC has been incredible, but between my real life obligations, the unique demands of editing an 84,000 word manuscript under tight deadlines, and a whirlwind of a blog tour, I’ve been neglecting my little slice of internet. I’m hoping to get in the habit of updating more regularly, but given that I’m still hard at work trying to promote IFTC and piecing together the next book in THE CASTOFFS SERIES, managing my time will be easier said than done!

So what’s it like to get your first book published?

Stressful certainly comes to mind… but so do fun and exciting. It was a real treat to revisit the novel during editing–an exhausting, if ultimately rewarding, process. I’d have to say my favorite part was getting to see my cover for the first time. Artist Reese Dante really outdid himself and delivered exactly what I was looking for: the art perfectly reflects the mood of the book, and I couldn’t be more pleased.

Over the upcoming weeks, I plan to talk more about the publication process from the perspective of a first-time author, so stay tuned for more posts from yours truly!

Until next time!

J.T.

Leave a Reply

